Adams Family Correspondence, volume 11

vii [Committees]
The Adams Papers

Administrative Committee

Douglas Adams Bernard Bailyn Levin H. Campbell Caroline Keinath Pauline Maier Catherine R. Matthews Elizabeth Prindle Alan Rogers L. Dennis Shapiro John Walsh Hiller B. Zobel

Editorial Advisory Committee

Joyce O. Appleby Joseph J. Ellis Linda K. Kerber Thomas K. McCraw † Gordon S. Wood

† Deceased

The acorn and oakleaf device on the preceding page is redrawn from a seal cut for John Quincy Adams after 1830. The motto is from Cæcilius Statius as quoted by Cicero in the First Tusculan Disputation: Serit arbores quæ alteri seculo prosint (“He plants trees for the benefit of later generations”).