A website from the Massachusetts Historical Society; founded 1791.
close
-
The Adams Papers Digital Edition is undergoing active maintenance while we work on improvements to the system. You may experience slow performance or the inability to access content. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. We will endeavor to return to full capabilities as soon as possible.

Browsing: Diary of Charles Francis Adams, Volume 1


This foot note contained in document ADMS-13-01-02-0003-0006-0022
1. Mount Ararat was part of the Old Braintree North Common (now West Quincy), which was divided and sold as lots after 1765. JA bought at least forty acres of the tract, which, along with certain other lands that proved profitable as granite quarries, he deeded to the town in 1822 for the purpose of founding a classical school of high quality. See JA, Diary and Autobiography , 1:xxxvii; 3:247; Pattee, Old Braintree and Quincy , p. 341–343; George Whitney, Some Account of the Early History and Present State of the Town of Quincy, Quincy, 1827?, p. 44.