UNHANDLED ERROR on line 88 in /var/www/incl/mhs_db_conn.php. Error: "mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead" (error #8192). Client IP:

Coming of the American Revolution: Document Viewer
Massachusetts Historical Society
America's oldest historical society, founded 1791.

Back to Sugar Act

"Boston, May 28. At a Meeting of the Freeholders ..."

Boston, May 28. At a Meeting of the Freeholders ...

Section Viewing Options NOTE

overview | large | transcription HELP
"We . . . declare our just expectations"
Soon after arriving in the New World, Massachusetts Bay Puritans established a unique system of local government, the town meeting. In that body, all qualified citizens have an equal voice. In addition to dealing with local affairs, the town meeting debates issues of colony-wide importance. Having formed a consensus, it then issues instructions for its representatives to the provincial legislative assembly, advising them what matters to raise and how to vote. Bostonians recognize that the current crisis with England tests their status within the British empire. Denied the right of direct representation in Parliament, they consider a variety of ways to make themselves heard across the Atlantic.

To examine the whole newspaper, please see the online display of The Massachusetts Gazette and Boston News-Letter, 31 May 1764.

Questions to Consider

1. The Bostonians recommend a series of measures to secure their rights and promote public well-being. What specific measures do they recommend with regard to legislators who have paid appointments with the government of England or of Massachusetts? the support of judges? public frugality?

2. What reasoning do the Bostonians use in recommending that the Sugar Act be repealed?

3. What is their greatest fear ("what still heightens our apprehensions?").

Further Exploration

4. By what right do Bostonians claim the privilege to govern and tax themselves? Research the English basis for provincial government in one of the following colonies: South Carolina, Georgia, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, New York, Virginia.