Papers of John Adams, volume 15

Descriptive List of Illustrations

vi [Administrative and Editorial Committees]
The Adams Papers

Administrative Committee

Margery Adams Charles Ames Bernard Bailyn Levin H. Campbell W. Dean Eastman Edward C. Johnson 3d Caroline Keinath Pauline Maier Elizabeth Prindle Alan Rogers Hiller B. Zobel

Editorial Advisory Committee

Joyce O. Appleby David Herbert Donald † Joseph J. Ellis Linda K. Kerber Thomas K. McCraw Gordon S. Wood


The acorn and oakleaf device on the preceding page is redrawn from a seal cut for John Quincy Adams after 1830. The motto is from Cæcilius Statius as quoted by Cicero in the First Tusculan Disputation: Serit arbores quæ alteri seculo prosint (“He plants trees for the benefit of later generations”).