2010 National Humanities Medals Awarded

By Carol Knauff

Earlier this month, President Barack Obama presented the 2010 National Humanities Medals to ten individuals honored for their outstanding achievements in history, literature, education, and cultural policy. We offer our congratulations to the five MHS Fellows to be honored:

  • – MHS Trustee Bernard Bailyn for illuminating the nation’s early history and pioneering the field of Atlantic history;
  • Daniel Aaron for his contributions to American literature and culture;
  • Jacques Barzun for his distinguished career as a scholar, educator, and public intellectual;
  • Stanley Nider Katz for a career devoted to fostering public support for the humanities; and
  • Gordon S. Wood for scholarship that provides insight into the founding of the nation and the drafting of the U.S. Constitution.